Paxila IX, canoness commander of the Order of the Revenant Maiden, St. Arkham convent

+++++

That thou wouldst bring them only death,

That thou shouldst spare none,

That thou shouldst pardon none

We beseech thee, destroy them.

– Excerpt from The Battle Hymn of the Adepta Sororitas

+++++

This is my Sororitas Canoness, from my own Order of the Revenant Maiden. She started out as the standard Veteran Superior that you get in the box, but I removed her chainsword/eviscerator and replaced it with the Bright Wizard’s sword from the Warhammer Fantasy Battle Empire Wizard kit.  I highly recommend picking up this kit if you are a Witch Hunters player, it has loads of great bits.  I think I’ve used most of it now.  I also switched out her plasma pistol for the metal canoness’s book, and lastly I gave her a Seraphim jump pack with an icon from the Immolator pinned to it.  The sword counts variously as a power weapon, blessed weapon, and brazier of holy fire.

Paxila is a good example of one of my attempts to paint outside the lines.  I wanted to make her look bold and powerful using colour rather than simply make her look realistic or neat.  My favourite thing about the paint job on this model is the armour – I decided to try dappling silver on the white armor when it was done, and it paid off.  It has a really nice pearly effect but also looks a little battle-worn.  I now use that method on all my Battle Sisters.

Pity she doesn’t work too well in games.  The big flaming sword looks so hard-core that I keep forgetting she gets instant killed by strength 6 or higher, and she keeps . . . getting instant killed.

4 responses to “Paxila IX, canoness commander of the Order of the Revenant Maiden, St. Arkham convent

  • Atreides

    wow, i love your painting style man! in this case i am especially impressed by the use of white and yellow as the main colours. i have never been successful in putting them together.

  • James S

    Thanks Atreides, that’s very kind of you to take the time to say.

    Yeah, there were definitely times I regretted choosing white and yellow as the Revenant Maiden’s colours! But people don’t use them together often so I think it makes them look a little unusual. The yellow wasn’t too bad when I took care, but there was no real way to do the white quickly.

  • Thor

    Great job. I like your painting style. It’s a far cry from the standard approach and I mean that as a compliment.

  • James S

    Thanks Thor. It’s always nice to get appreciative comments!

Leave a Reply

