TMNT and Other Strangeness

In my last post about D&D I mentioned that I played the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles RPG in high school. It was actually a pretty great game, especially the character creation rules. I’ve never seen so much freedom to build your character from their physiology up. Anyway, I was reading about it on Wikipedia and saw this:

The initial edition of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles & Other Strangeness was published with a section detailing a comprehensive list of mental illnesses that players could adopt for their characters, including an extensive list of sexual deviations. After parents of players objected to this list, the publisher covered over the list of sexual deviations with a plain white sticker. Subsequent editions removed the list entirely. Copies of the 1st edition with the list of sexual deviations consequently sells for a premium on auction web sites like eBay.

Ah,the days of mutant necrophiliac psychic frog mercenaries.  If only I could go back in time and stop my twenty-two year old self from selling my copy to a second hand bookstore.

Not that I’d sell it now – I’d play it again!

2 responses to “TMNT and Other Strangeness

  • Evan

    Maaan, that was my favorite RPG back in the day. I was a Rhino with a trenchcoat, fedora, and pump-action shotgun. And my brother had a Polar bear with goggles. Mess was awesome.

  • James S

    Yeah it was a great game. I had a few PCs, my most memorable was a black cat with one of those Rambo hunting bows. My brother had an owl with an AK-47 who was an expert in Muay Thai.

Leave a Reply

