Kill Team and temporary loss of signal

Yesterday I finally had time to check out Kill Team on the Xbox 360.  I played it with my girlfriend’s ten year old brother, and we had a great time smashing orks and trying out all the different space marines.  I was impressed by some of the little things, like the orkified space marine statue that showed the kill krooza was a looted imperial vessel, and the way the meltagun actually seemed like superheated air and did a lot more damage at short range.  I really enjoy short, cheap games like this with a lot of replay value, like Super Meat Boy.  There should be more of them.

I also had to keep myself from laughing because the kid I was playing with kept saying “I need health . . . badly!”  He’s ten, he’s never played or even heard of Gauntlet, so it was pretty funny.

Playing this game and seeing the build-up to Space Marine has got me thinking that GW could do a lot worse than license their intellectual property to as many other high quality media companies (like THQ and Fantasy Flight) as they can.  I really believe that the Warhammer 40,000 universe has the potential to be a science fiction milieu as recognizable as Star Trek or even Star Wars, but GW’s continued emphasis on their miniatures and tabletop game is a bad idea.  Let it go, GW.  It’s not 1990 any more.  You can still make the minis and sell the original game, but it’s a niche product and always will be.  Buckets of extra money and new creative blood with fresh perspectives can only help the original hobby, but if they keep treating games like Dawn of War, the upcoming Space Marine and the prophesied 40k MMO as essentially giant advertisements for their tabletop hobby then they’re fooling themselves and just wasting so much potential.

The second thing I wanted to mention is that I’m taking a break from blogging for a couple of weeks.  I know there are a few of you out there who regularly check up on me and my ramblings – thanks heaps for that by the way! – so I thought I should let you all know I may be a bit quiet for a while, but I’ll be back soon.

I’m getting a bit overwhelmed with work in real life and falling behind a little because I’m putting so much effort into regularly posting on Warp Signal.  I realized that the main demands on my limited time are (in order of importance) family and friends, work, hobby, and writing about my hobby on the internet.

That last one needs to be scaled back a bit so I can get some perspective, because it’s starting to eat into the other three – particularly the real hobby!  I spend way more time thinking and writing about gaming at the moment than I do painting figures and playing, and I don’t like it.

So I’ll meet all of your disembodied voiceless minds again in the near future sometime.  If you’ve stumbled here for the first time have a look around and check out the other excellent blogs on your right.  Have a good one!

3 responses to “Kill Team and temporary loss of signal

  • Thor

    Don’t forget the movie! It was awesome…OK, not really but it was GW lending the license in an unprecedented manner if nothing else. They may slowly be coming around, I hope.

    We’ll see you when you get back.

  • Paul

    Games Workshop seem to be the Toho Studios of the gaming world. They don’t want to lose grip on their product! I too am super stoked by the imminent Space Marine game for 360, the Kill Team game is AWESOME!

  • James S

    @Thor, yeah, they seem to be getting a bit more clever with it, but if they were going to license a movie they really should have gone all out and given it to someone with a few more resources.

    @Paul, yep, I’m really looking forward to Space Marine. The customizer is beautiful. I haven’t been so excited for a game since Dragon Age: Origins.

Leave a Reply

