Signal resumed and Keisotsu Butai

It’s good to be back!  After taking a couple of weeks (sort of) away from the blogosphere, I’ve managed to re-balance my time a bit.  I’ve done quite a bit of real hobby stuff, by my standards, and some interesting reading which I’ll share in the not-too-distant future.

But for starters, here is my first finished Infinity model: a keisotsu butai.  These guys are the regular infantry of the Japanese Sectorial Army.  I gloss-coated her armour plates and the sheath of her tanto after weathering to try to give a lacquered effect.  Unfortunately my “matte” sealer is almost as shiny.  I’ll have to do something about that.

The model was looking a little cold and bland, so on the suggestion of my girlfriend I gave her hot pink boots.  She is a Japanese girl after all (the model, not my girlfriend), and the bright colours add to the samurai feel I think.

I had heaps of fun painting something non-GW for once, and I especially enjoyed painting the tiny Japanese flag on her shoulder – it’s weird painting real world people, even if they are from the future.

Like I said I’ve got some other stuff to share now, but I’m going to try not to post more than once a week (probably on Tuesdays or Wednesdays).  This is mainly to prevent blogging pushing out my other hobby time!

So in the next few weeks expect to see (not necessarily in this order):

  • More finished Infinity models.
  • The next battle report of the Invasion of St. Arkham.
  • A painting showcase of some of the unseen character models from both sides in the campaign.
  • For the nerds out there, some academic papers I found about gaming culture which I’ll share and briefly comment on.
  • My Iybraesil Farseer’s jetbike.

So any of that seems interesting to you, watch this space!

Leave a Reply

