Cancon 2012 + Baby

So . . . I’ve been hell busy because my son was born on the 30th of January. In an effort to get things moving my lovely girlfriend and I went to Cancon the day before, Australia’s largest annual gaming convention which happens to be in the city we live (only partly why I moved there, honest!)

We actually went mainly to support our friend Cazz’s hand-made geek-themed jewellery shop, Nerd Burger.  She sold lots of stuff to gamer girls while the rest of us sat there and drank coffee.  So if you have a gamer significant other, are a gamer girl or just like wearing necklaces with reliefs of Han Solo in carbonite on them, I recommend checking out her site.

Here we are.  From left to right: me, Cazz, Liam.

We also went crazy and bought the board-game Ticket to Ride, which is awesome, and some tiny d20s, which are equally awesome.  I wasn’t playing in the 40k this year because you know, baby at any moment, but I did give them a quick look.  I took some enormously bad photos, only one of which isn’t blurry:

A horrible photo of a really very good Necron Monolith.

I was really keen to see the Infinity tables, as last year they were amazing and they were actually what got me interested in the game.  I wasn’t disappointed:

I love the Blade Runner billboard.

I’m considering going in the Infinity tournament next year – much less commitment in terms of time and prep than the three-day 40k grind I did last year.

So yeah, Cancon was fun as always. I’m going to go and wash nappies now.

4 responses to “Cancon 2012 + Baby

  • David Stillberg

    Grats, mate! Kids are awesome 🙂

  • iggykoopa30

    Congrats on the new addition to the family. Thanks for sharing your story as well as some pics. I enjoyed reading your article.

  • sinsynn

    That Infinity table….
    Wow.
    Just…wow.

  • James S

    Thanks for the congrats guys, the little man is a bit of a handful so far but we’re getting used to him!

    @sinsynn, The Infinity tables were awesome. Last year I walked past with one of my 40k buddies and asked “what’s that game?” One of the players overheard me, jumped out at us and gave us a really excited 5 minute spiel about how great Infinity was. I figured anything that inspired that much enthusiasm and such great terrain modeling must be worth a go!

    Looking at the photo again though I’m wondering why there’s a pair of D6s on the table…

Leave a Reply

