Night Goblins!

I found this nice Night Goblins picture on Deviant Art, click for original link.

I’ve been thinking more and more about what I wrote in this article, about finding imaginative ways to quickly paint the large armies that the current editions of 40k and Warhammer demand.  I’m getting excited about the project, so I’ve decided to give it a go and start an army for a system I don’t currently play or have any models for – Warhammer Fantasy Battle.

I was going to go with Skaven.  The new models just look fantastic.  But I’ve discovered that a potential future opponent has already claimed them.  I’m glad really because it made me think about something different, and brought me back to an army I’ve always wanted to try: Night Goblins.  Ever since the 90s when they first appeared I just really liked the hooded creepy-cute look, and the background about them being madcap mushroom-eating freaks with units like fanatics and squig hoppers was just the icing on the cake.  They’re evil little goblins, they’re cute, they’re crazy and they’re fun.  Heh.  Night Goblins rule.

So, since I don’t do things by halves I’m now set on coming up with a super-efficient but great-looking way to paint an army, and I’ve gone with a horde.  Good plan right?

My basic plan is this:

  1. Base them with gravel
  2. Spray them all midnight blue
  3. Blast them from above with a lighter blue for a bold zenith highlight
  4. Wash them with black and brown and other dirty colours
  5. Give the impression of glinting weapons and shield rims with some quick strokes of metallic
  6. Pick out the eyes in bright yellow

If this works I’m thinking it’ll give them a sort of two-tone anime style light-and-shadow effect and make them look like they are scuttling in the dark with glowing eyes.  Something like this:

Drawing by me.

For consistency I need to do everything the same way, but I know it’ll be hard not to put extra touches on the characters, so I’ll try to give them reeeally subtle highlights at the highest points that blend into the lighter blue.  Oh and I’m doing the army on the cheap too because I don’t hate myself that much. I’m really looking forward to making some awesome unit fillers for extra cheapiness.

So I grabbed twenty gobbos from eBay and they’re waiting.  The first hitch has been sourcing midnight blue matte finish spray paint.  It’s harder than you think.  Even artist quality spray paint seems to be made in gloss only.  Buying gloss and then spraying them all with a matte sealer seems a bit wasteful, but I might have to.

5 responses to “Night Goblins!

  • Frontline Gamer

    Looking forward to seeing what you come up with James.

  • Thor

    Ditto. I have no doubts you’ll pull it off and do so well.

  • sinsynn

    Gotta say all the Xenos-y races in Fantasy are pretty cool, actually.
    Even the poor Wood Elves.
    Night Goblins sure are cute, and nutty….good choice!

    Dunno how many a ‘horde’ is in this case, but as someone who painted entirely too many termagants all I can say is- good luck!

  • James S

    Yeah, they are all pretty cool aren’t they? Lizardmen, skaven, beasts, they’re all interesting. Do Undead count as xenos-y I wonder?

  • Von

    I like the thought of rank upon rank of those. One of those schemes that’ll look great en masse, I think, and exactly the sort of approach I’d take if I were doing a WFB army completely from scratch.

    WFB Undead are a bit too ex-human to count as proper Xenos, although if you could get hold of enough Cursed Company models…

Leave a Reply

