Old Stuff Day 2012

Well, here we are at my second annual Old Stuff Day!  Well, it’s not mine really, Rob at Warhammer 39,999 started it last year and my mate Thor over at Creative Twilight has taken up the torch since Rob faded away a little (as bloggers sadly do). But it is the second one and it’s my second one.

Basically the idea is that we showcase older content that we are either particularly proud of, or that we feel didn’t get a fair go the first time around.

It’s the nature of blogging that sometimes something you work hard on and think is really pretty good just slips through the cracks and no-one seems to notice.

Anyway last year I’d only been going for about a week(!) so I linked to an old Bell of Lost Souls article that I really enjoyed.

This year I actually have a year’s worth of my own content I can trawl through.  Here’s what I came up with.  I tried to pick some things that weren’t my most popular posts but that I think are good examples of  the sort of content here at Warp Signal. Hope you enjoy them:

Lord Inquisitor Julius Borgez – One of my first posts, and one that shows both my ‘quick and dirty’ painting style and a model I am particularly proud of.  You might not have seen it if you came to the blog a bit later.

RAI vs. RAW – A New Convention – Yes, I do a fair bit of opinionated analysis hereabouts.  I like this one because it’s an issue that bugs me and it gets across my basic approach to gaming – if you can win and your opponent has a great time and doesn’t feel like they were suckered in any way, then you’re doing it right.

Painting Outside the Lines – OK so you might have seen this one.  It’s one of my more popular articles, but I like it.  It’s about combining my two favourite things in our hobby: painting and letting your imagination run free.

Command Section, report! – A really old post (my second?) that shows some of the characters from battleforce Wyvern, my Imperial Guard army that you might now know from the Invasion of St. Arkham campaign.  Lord General Drake has not been built or painted yet at this point.  This post is also notable because in the early days of the blog I got more visits from people looking for paintings of Marshall Castex (the random Napoleonic officer I used as a picture) than anything else!

7 responses to “Old Stuff Day 2012

  • Frontline Gamer

    Boo hiss I’d seen all of those… because I’ve honestly read all of your posts!!!

    I was going to put something up on my Blog. But given my Blog isn’t even a year old yet it didn’t seem ‘right’ to me I guess. Maybe next year if I’m still Blogging I’ll do some Blog necromancy. Good choices by the way.

  • Joe TwoCrows

    And in the spirit of ‘Old Stuff Day’, I have to post a reply on the day _before_ you posted this. It’s only March 1, here. Think of it as … hmmm, Warptime.

  • James S

    Wow… that’s quite a compliment!

    I wish I could say the same to you – looks like I need to catch up on my reading!

  • James S

    @Joe TwoCrows, yeah I always forget I’m a bit of a time traveller to the northern hemisphere 😉

  • Porky

    You have a lot to show for a year, and I’d say anyone who hasn’t had as good a look around as Frontline Gamer should definitely go digging further for more of the many gems.

  • James S

    Thanks Porky. Yours is another blog I wish I could just sit down and read for a whole day. Although you have so much content it would probably take a lot longer than that 🙂

  • Frontline Gamer

    James I wouldn’t worry about reading all of my Blogs. There’s far too many now for that!!! I just think it’s awesome anyone reads my stuff to be honest with you.

Leave a Reply

