Signal Lost

rogue trader Emperor

This classic image is somehow strangely fitting.

I was a bit shocked last week when Von closed GAME OVER after four and a half years.  It is one of the blogs I’ve read and commented on since the beginning of Warp Signal.  But I understand why he’s made that choice, and I’ve actually been thinking something similar was in order for me over the last couple of months.  After a few days consideration, I’ve decided to follow his example.

Blogs come and go, and honestly the only reason I maintain this one at all is because whenever I think of closing it, I remember what my original mission was: to serve as a record of my gaming exploits.

The thing is, I’ve even forgotten why I wanted to do that in the first place.  Because I could, maybe?  My best guess is that it was because I needed a creative writing outlet away from my PhD, and gaming was my main creative outlet at the time.  It has been for most of my life, and in the times when I was working in mind-numbing or isolating jobs, online conversations about gaming were my main respite.  I have a very active mind, as do most bloggers I presume (otherwise where would they find the time?), and I had a pretty pervasive presence on several forums over the years before I started blogging.

Now, for the first time, I find myself in a situation where I’m not gaming much at all and couldn’t even if I wanted to.  Therefore gaming is no longer my creative outlet, and thus my blog is sputtering to a halt.  It turns out that PhDs are really hard, and you slog away with not much to show for it for a long time.  It is draining beyond any academic work I have done before.  I also have a part-time job and a one year old who is allergic to sleeping through the night.  I have almost no time for playing games, and so the raw fuel of any gaming blog is in short supply for me.  I still need a creative outlet to escape my academic work, but I have taken up something that requires nothing but alone time: fiction writing.  It’s the only thing I seem to be able to sustain at the moment in the face of other demands.

So, long story short: no gaming = no thinking about gaming = no blogging.  Even when I do game, I no longer see any value in recording what I do for posterity.  That seems like the sort of thing a person does when they have creative energy to burn that is not being used up by anything else.  And quite frankly that was me, but now is not.

For a while there I was running on the residual fuel of past gaming, or feeding off the community, but that’s not good enough.  It’s not viable long term, so now I guess I’m calling it a day.  I haven’t been happy with the standard of my blog lately anyway.  If I actually do get a game in I might put it up, but don’t count on it.  I’ll most likely just play and not bother to tell the world about it.  And there’s nothing wrong with that, right?

I do have some loose ends to tie up, such as the Invasion of St. Arkham campaign and the Ratling project, so I’ll probably pop back in to update those if they ever eventuate.  Expect to see me blathering away on other blogs too, certainly less sporadically than I have been.

Until then, I have a small request.  If you have a blog linked to mine, or a network, I ask only that you leave my blog on your rolls in case I return.  I know first-hand how easy it is to get a bit too neat about it all and cull blogs that fade away, but really there’s no reason to – there’ll always be someone who hasn’t read them before.  And if I do post something, I want my old friends to know about it.

Cheers, and thanks for reading.

– James

14 responses to “Signal Lost

  • Von

    For what it’s worth, it’s been fun reading and discussing with you, and if I had a blogroll, I’d leave you on it.

    Totally understand why you’re closing down, too.

    • James S

      Thanks Von. I’ll see you around the traps I’m sure. I’m planning on commenting more at other blogs, I think that’s a more valuable thing to do right now.

  • SinSynn

    No.
    No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No.
    No.
    No.
    ….
    Sigh.
    First Sorrowshard, then Von, now YOU, too?
    -_-
    Lord knows where Frontline Gamer is….I hope he is well, but I miss him.
    I miss him a lot, actually.
    Goddamnit, I understand knuckleheads gotta like, have lives an’ whatnot, but…..
    Fer realzies?
    😦
    Aww, man.
    QQ

    Since Von is going to continue writing for da House, I’m ok with him shutting the lights over at the Game Over offices. That also means I am far less likely to, ummm….be tempted to comment on something written by Hark, as well, but I’ll definitely miss Von’s thoughtful ramblings. Every post he put up at Game Over was a chin-rubber.
    I would totally scratch and run my chin while I read his stuffs, since that’s one of the ways I make the Hamster that Lives in my Head get on his wheel and start spinning…

    And now I find out the one blog I come to that discusses Street Fighter and 40k in the same place is going away as well?
    No.
    No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No.
    Goddamnit!!!!!
    I unnerstan,’ an’ all but….still- no.
    Goddamnit!!!!

    Stupid…life. Y U not give my friends time and inspiration to blog?
    Yer stupid, life.
    -_-
    Fer reals.

    I goes without saying that I wish you success, health an’ happiness, James.
    Yer a very rare kinda guy amongst bloggers. Personable, easy going, smart and knowledgable regarding the games we play, and thankfully capable of writing stuffs other than tactical and list discussion posts.
    Sigh.
    Warp Signal will be missed, and I’ll keep an eye on the horizon for a Shinobi-styled pirate flag coming from down under.
    In the meantime, I truly, truly hope to see you in my comment sections.
    Hug the baby for me, and please keep the child away from any swords you’ve got lying around.
    Aussies. Gotta love ’em. Such a wacky lot.
    🙂
    Be eezy, Warp Signal…be eezy.

    • James S

      @SinSynn. Buddy, thanks for that, it made me feel really appreciated!

      This wasn’t an easy decision, I actually wrote a closing post about a month ago and chickened out. It’s been fun, to be sure, but I think it’s just time for me to move on to other things. I’m going to pop my head in at the House a lot more now, don’t worry. I commented on GMort’s post today, and I felt strangely relieved to be honest. No longer a blogger; just another gamer.

      So yeah, I am still gaming (theoretically), and I still have your XBL details if I ever get some spare cash and you ever bother to call Microsoft to sort out that business!

      I hugged the bub but unfortunately with my puny human frame I was only able to approximate a proper xenos hug. I think he got the message though 😉

      Cheers mate, and I’ll encounter you virtually very soon I’m sure…

  • David Stillberg

    Sad to see you go. You’re always a voice of reason that stands out in the not-too-analytical blogosphere.

    I do understand why – I haven’t blogged in ages, either. And writing the kind of posts you do take time. Let’s just hope someone invents a game you can play with minimal time input 🙂

  • Thor

    I’m with Sinsynn. Your blog is a beacon in a sea of building the perfect list blogs and it’s sad to see a blog like that vanish. Blogs of quality are few and far between and I’ll miss reading your thoughts.

    I’ll definitely keep you on my blogroll so I can catch you when you do get an update in.

    Best of luck.

    • James S

      Thanks Thor. Yours is another blog I’ve read since I started blogging, so that means a lot. Cheers for keeping me on the books, and I’m sure I’ll see you around (virtually).

  • Minitrol

    Naaaaaw there’s only so many good antipodean writers out there, you and …er…um…not me I am rubbish.

    I totally get it. I has the two tiny xenomorphs now and by god the energy sucking is extreme and the casual games are out must plan games 6 months in advance!

    But I tell you I don’;t follow sport, I despise politics, art makes me depressed I LOVE my games can’t stop writing about them just yet…

    I’ll definitely keep my RSS feed in place

    • James S

      Cheers mate, yeah so much energy suckage! And you are not rubbish. Now I can check your blog more often than I get to, which is good.

      Thanks for leaving me on the feed, and see you around hey?

  • Headologist

    That’s really a shame, your blog was the first I starting reading properly and it’s always been a stand-out one for me, but I conmpletely understand your reasons. I’ve taken a bit of an unofficial sabbatical for similar reasons. Wish we could have seen more of your Iybraesil stuff though 😉

    All the best for the future James.

    • James S

      Thanks mate, that means a lot to hear that I was someone’s entry point into the blogosphere. I always imagined people only came here via other blogs 🙂

      It’s sad, I don’t think I’ll go any further with the Iybraesil. I’ve pretty much washed my hands of GW at this point. Too many models required, too much time, too expensive, and too much hassle. I’m resolved to keep at least my Imperial Guard so I can play games if I want.

      If I decide to get rid of the Eldar I’ll drop you a line?

  • Headologist

    That’s essentially how I’m feeling about GW now. I’m not buying anything new and only finishing off a couple of existing projects (at a very slow pace – thesis has to come first of course). If you do decide to sell the Eldar I’d certainly be interested, thanks very much.

  • blackmane91

    Its a shame to see that you’ve decided to stop blogging. I always enjoyed the things you posted.

Leave a Reply

